

OREGON SCHOOL BOARDS ASSOCIATION OSBA Board of Directors Special Meeting

Wednesday, September 11, 2024

Via Zoom

Meeting Minutes

OSBA board members in attendance at meeting start: President Sami Al-Abdrabbuh, President-elect Cronin Chris, Secretary-Treasurer Dawn Watson, Past-president Sonja Mckenzie, Kraig Albright, Laurie Danzuka, Katrina Doughty, Linda Hamilton, Kris Howatt, Greg Kintz, Kristy Kottkey, Steve Lowell, Alonso Oliveros, Chrissy Reitz

OSBA staff in attendance at meeting start: Interim Executive Director Emielle Nischik, Chief Legal Officer and Interim Deputy Executive Director Haley Percell, Communications and News Specialist Jake Arnold, Legislative Specialist Efren Zamudio, Executive Assistant La'Nell Trissel

Guests in attendance at meeting start: Bob Steringer, Harrang Long P.C., Julian Marrs, Harrang Long P.C.

OSBA board members not in attendance at meeting start: Jeffrey Crapper, Jackie Crook, Neelam Gupta, Tristan Irvin, Clyde Rood, Nichole Schott, Emily Smith, Nancy Thomas, Glenn Wachter

President Al-Abdrabbuh called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

I. Welcome, introductions, roll call

President Al-Abdrabbuh welcomed everyone to the meeting, noted that the purpose of the meeting was the consideration of a tentative agreement for the employment of the executive director, and thanked the Board for all the work that went into this process.

Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present.

II. Approve agenda

Motion: Kristy Kottkey moved to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded by Sonja McKenzie. There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

III. Executive Director contract

President Al-Abdrabbuh provided an overview of the project's history, the process that will be used during the meeting, and reviewed the parameters and interests embedded in the tentative agreement. Clarification was provided regarding the timing of the Sept. 11 special meeting.

- **Clyde Rood joined the meeting at 3:10 p.m.**
- **Emily Smith joined the meeting at 3:13 p.m.**

After several round-robin style question and answer periods, the following topics were discussed: an acknowledgment and appreciation of the work that has been put into the project, financial stability going forward, Board member opportunity to provide input on the process, the timeline used in the process, the definition and purpose of the retention incentive provision, the thought

process behind the work-life balance parameter, board member attendance at this meeting, appreciation for the ability to provide feedback prior to the Sept. 11 special meeting, and details regarding the insurance provision and benefits package.

There was a request for review of the deputy executive director job description.

IV. Executive Director contract

Motion: Dawn Watson move to approve the Executive Director contract as presented and authorize the OSBA Board President to execute the contract on behalf of the OSBA Board of Directors. Seconded by Kristy Kottkey.

A roll call vote was taken. There being two votes in opposition, the motion passed with a majority.

Clyde Rood: Absent Kraig Albright: Yea Kris Howatt: Nav Jeffrey Crapper: Absent Tristan Irvin: Absent Nichole Schott: Absent Greg Kintz: Nav Chris Cronin: Yea Emily Smith (she/her): Yea Jackie Crook: Absent Kristy Kottkey: Yea Nancy Thomas: Absent Glenn Wachter: Absent Laurie Danzuka: Yea Steve Lowell: Yea Dawn Watson: Yea Katrina Doughty: Yea Sonja Mckenzie: Yea Neelam Gupta: Absent Alonso Oliveros: Yea Linda Hamilton: Absent Chrissy Reitz: Yea

Congratulations were offered to Executive Director Nischik.

Under the guidelines identified by outside legal counsel that no further business would be conducted and that all conversation would stop at the adjournment of the meeting, additional discussion took place regarding how the contract would affect the association's long term financial stability, additional clarification regarding the Insurance Benefits provision, advertising for the position, qualifications of the position, the work-life balance provisions, and in person vs. virtual meetings.

V. Meeting adjourns

The meeting was adjourned at 4:22 p.m.

^{**}Linda Hamilton left the meeting at 3:55 p.m.**

^{**}Clyde Rood left the meeting at 3:56 p.m.**

^{**}Kraig Albright left the meeting at 4:06 p.m.**

^{**}Laurie Danzuka left the meeting at 4:06 p.m.**

^{**}Katrina Doughty left the meeting at 4:06 p.m.**

^{**}Kristy Kottkey left the meeting at 4:06 p.m.**

^{**}Chirssy Reitz left the meeting at 4:06 p.m.**