

OREGON SCHOOL BOARDS ASSOCIATION OSBA Board of Directors Special Meeting

Friday, April 19, 2024, 6:30 PM

Salem Convention Center, 200 Commercial Street SE, Salem, OR 97301

Meeting Minutes

OSBA board members in attendance at meeting start: President Sami Al-Abdrabbuh; President-elect Chris Cronin; Vice President Emily Smith; Secretary-Treasurer Dawn Watson; Past-president Sonja Mckenzie; Kraig Albright; Jeffrey Crapper; Jackie Crook; Katrina Doughty; Neelam Gupta (Zoom); Linda Hamilton; Kris Howatt; Tristan Irvin; Greg Kintz; Kristy Kottkey; Steve Lowell; Alonso Oliveros; Chrissy Reitz; Clyde Rood; Nichole Schott; Nancy Thomas; Glenn Wachter; Ex-officio Guadalupe Martinez Zapata

OSBA staff in attendance at meeting start: Acting Executive Director Emielle Nischik, Chief Legal Officer and Interim Deputy Executive Director Haley Percell, Chief Operations Officer Chris Davidson, PACE Administrator Dave Harvey, Director of Policy Services Spencer Lewis, Director of Board Development Kristen Miles, Interim Director of Legal Services Michael Miller, Director of Communications Alex Pulaski, Director of Legislative Services Lori Sattenspiel, Events Specialist Charissa Geib, Information Technology Analyst Henry van Vuuren, Legislative Specialist Efren A. Zamudio, Executive Assistant La'Nell Trissel

Guests in attendance at meeting start: Bob Steringer, Harrang Long P.C.; Chris Duckworth, CDR Labor Law LLC (Zoom); Facilitator Salam Noor

OSBA board members not in attendance at meeting start: Laurie Danzuka

President Al-Abdrabbuh called the meeting to order at 6:42 p.m.

I. Welcome, introductions, roll call

President Al-Abdrabbuh welcomed everyone to the meeting, asked that each person introduce themselves, provided open remarks, and made additional announcements regarding logistics.

Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present.

II. Approve agenda

Motion: Linda Hamilton moved the Board to move the special meeting, requested by the Board of Directors, according to the bylaws, that it be moved up prior.

President Al-Abdrabbuh ruled the motion out of order.

President Al-Abdrabbuh explained that the Board could not move a special meeting that had not been properly noticed prior to the special meeting that was noticed. Al-Adbrabbuh requested that Hamilton consider the motion language that was provided by legal counsel in an email to the Board prior to the meeting.

Motion: Linda Hamilton moved the Board to amend the proposed agenda to add healing session as an agenda item to take place immediately after the executive session with Linda Hamilton as the discussion leader. Seconded by Steve Lowell.

Further discussion took place both for and against the motion.

POINT OF ORDER: Directors should confine remarks to the motion.

President Al-Abdrabbuh asked Directors to restrict comments to the motion.

A roll call vote was taken, there being seven votes in opposition, the motion passed with a majority.

Kraig Albright	Yea	Kristy Kottkey	Nay
Jeffrey Crapper	Yea	Steve Lowell	Yea
Chris Cronin	Nay	Sonja Mckenzie	Nay
Jackie Crook	Yea	Alonso Oliveros	Yea
Laurie Danzuka	Absent	Chrissy Reitz	Yea
Katrina Doughty	Nay	Clyde Rood	Yea
Neelam Gupta	Nay	Nichole Schott	Nay
Linda Hamilton	Yea	Emily Smith	Yea
Kris Howatt	Abstain	Nancy Thomas	Yea
Tristan Irvin	Nay	Glenn Wachter	Yea
Greg Kintz	Yea	Dawn Watson	Yea

Motion: Kristy Kottkey move the Board to approve the agenda as ammended. Seconded by Glenn Wachter.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passes unanimously.

III. To consider attorney-client privileged information or records that are otherwise exempt by law from public inspection regarding legal advise

President Sami Al-Abdrabbuh led the Board into executive session at 7:22 p.m.

Executive Session: ORS 192.660(2)(f) "To consider information or records that are exempt by law from public inspection.", ORS 192.355(9), and ORS 40.225.

President Sami Al-Abdrabbuh adjourned executive session at 8:07 p.m.

** All OSBA Staff, guests, and members of the public returned to the meeting at 8:07 p.m.**

IV. Healing Session

Linda Hamilton invited Salam Noor to facilitate a healing session. Salam Noor lead the Directors of the Board through a healing session.

The meeting recessed at 8:07 p.m.

The meeting reconvened at 8:21 p.m.

Motion: Linda Hamilton moved the Board to continue with the healing session until everyone has been heard. Seconded by Chrissy Reitz.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

Linda Hamilton, Clyde Rood, Steve Lowell, Greg Kintz, Jackie Crook, and Alonso Oliveros all agreed to cancel the special meeting scheduled for 3:00 p.m. on April 20.

^{**} All OSBA Staff, guests, and members of the public, except Emielle Nisckik, Haley Percell, La'Nell Trissel, Bob Steringer, Chris Duckworth left the meeting at 11:12 a.m.**

- ** Kristy Kottkey left the meeting prior to 10:50 p.m. **
- **Sonja McKenzie left the meeting prior to 10:50 p.m. **
- **Glenn Wachter left the meeting prior to 10: 50 p.m. **
 - V. Appointment: PACE Trustees

Dawn Watson gave a brief summary of the candidates and the process.

Motion: Emily Smith move the Board to appoint Tim Belanger for a third term and Brad Henry to a second term on the PACE Trust Board. Seconded by Nancy Thomas.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

VI. Appointment: OSBA Legislative Policy Committee

President Al-Abdrabbuh summarized the appointment process for filling the vacancy.

An argument was provided to not fill the vacancy at this time and was supported by other members of the board.

Clarification was provided that the candidates would be notified and would be encouraged to reapply.

Motion: Emily Smith moved the Board to reopen the application process for the Legislative Policy Committee for the Marion region. Seconded by Katrina Doughty.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

VII. Facilitated discussion

This item was removed from the agenda.

VIII. Meeting adjourns

The meeting was adjourned at 11:04 p.m.