Wednesday, January 11, 2024

Via Zoom

OSBA board members in attendance at meeting start: President Sami Al-Abdrabbuh, President elect Chris Cronin, Vice President Emily Smith, Secretary Treasurer Dawn Watson, Past President Sonja McKenzie, Kraig Albright, Jeff Crapper, Jackie Crook, Laurie Danzuka, Katrina Doughty, Neelam Gupta, Linda Hamilton, Kris Howatt, Tristan Irvin, Greg Kintz, Steve Lowell, Alonso Oliveros, Chrissy Reitz, Will Cahill (ex-officio), Guadalupe Martinez Zapata (ex-officio)

OSBA staff in attendance at meeting start: Deputy Executive Director Emielle Nischik, Director of Board Development Kristen Miles, Director of Legislative Services Lori Sattenspiel, Chief Legal Officer and Interim Deputy Executive Director Haley Percell, Chief Operations Officer Chris Davidson, PACE Administrator Dave Harvey, Director of Policy Services Spencer Lewis, Executive Assistant La'Nell Trissel, Legislative Specialist Efren Zamudio, Communications and News Specialist Jake Arnold, Information Technology Analyst Henry van Vuuren

Guests in attendance at meeting start: Robert Steringer, Harrang Long PC

OSBA board members not in attendance at meeting start: Nichole Schott

President Sami Al-Abdrabbuh called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

I. Welcome and roll call

President Al-Abdrabbuh welcomed attendees to the meeting and introduced new board members. Roll call was taken. A quorum was present.

II. Approve agenda

Motion: Kris Howatt moved the Board to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded by Sonja McKenzie.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

III. Appointments

President Al-Abdrabbuh read the OSBA Board of Directors Process for Conducting Appointments and detailed the process that will be used for today's appointments.

III.A.1. Position 7, Clackamas Region

Motion: Sonja McKenzie moved the Board to appoint Glenn Wachter to the Board of Directors, Position 7, Clackamas Region. Seconded by Kris Howatt.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

III.A.2. Position 10, Linn/Benton/Lincoln Region

President Al-Abdrabbuh announced Jason Curtis, Clyde Rood, and Luhui Whitebear as the candidates for Board of Directors Position 10, Linn/Benton/Lincoln Region, then invited the Board to speak on behalf of the candidates.

Nichole Schott joined the meeting at 12:15 p.m.

President Al-Abdrabbuh opened an election by voice that did not result in a majority. President Al-Abdrabbuh opened a second election by voice resulting in 12/6/0 vote in favor of Clyde Rood.

Motion: Chris Cronin moved the Board to appoint Clyde Rood to the Board of Directors, Position 10, Linn/Benton/Lincoln Region. Seconded by Linda Hamilton.

A roll call vote was taken. There being no votes in opposition and one abstention, the motion passed with a majority.

Kraig Albright - Aye
Jeffrey Crapper - Aye
Chris Cronin - Aye
Jackie Crook - Aye
Laurie Danzuka - Aye
Katrina Doughty - Abstain
Neelam Gupta - Aye
Linda Hamilton - Aye
Kris Howatt - Aye

Tristan Irvin - Aye Greg Kintz - Aye Steve Lowell - Aye Sonja McKenzie - Aye Alonso Oliveros - Aye Chrissy Reitz - Aye Nichole Schott - Aye Emily Smith – Aye Dawn Watson - Aye

III.B.1. Position 7, Clackamas Region

Motion: Chrissy Reitz moved the Board to appoint Mitzi Bauer to the Legislative Policy Committee, Position 7, Clackamas Region. Seconded by Emily Smith.

Point of order: Is the newly appointed member of the Board invited to vote? President Al-Abdrabbuh clarified that newly appointed members of the Board take office at the conclusion of the meeting in which they were appointed.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

III.B.2. Position 8, Clackamas Region

Motion: Kris Howatt moved the Board to appoint Kirsten Aird to the Legislative Policy Committee, Position 8, Clackamas Region. Seconded by Sonja McKenzie.

Point of order: Has agenda items III.A.3 and III.A.4 been skipped? President Al-Abdrabbuh stated the Board will settle the motion that is currently before them prior to moving to another agenda item. Clarification was made that the agenda items were missed and that they will be taken care of next.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

Jeff Crapper left the meeting at 12:56 p.m.

III.A.3. Position 15, Washington Region

Motion: Kris Howatt moved the Board to appoint Kristy Kottkey to the Board of Directors, Position 15, Washington Region. Seconded by Sonja McKenzie.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

III.A.4. Position 20, Washington Region

Motion: Kris Howatt moved the Board to appoint Nancy Thomas to the Board of Directors, Position 20, Washington Region. Seconded by Linda Hamilton.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

III.B.3. Position 15, Washington Region

President Al-Abdrabbuh announced Ivette Pantoja and Melissa Potter as the candidates for Legislative Policy Committee Position 15, Washington Region, and invited the Board to speak on behalf of the candidates.

Clarification was made that the position numbers that candidates applied for was verified during the application process by email and that the detailed agenda stands correct.

President Al-Abdrabbuh opened an election by voice resulting in 15/1 vote in favor of Melissa Potter.

Motion: Chris Cronin moved the Board to appoint Melissa Potter to the Legislative Policy Committee, Position 15, Washington Region. Seconded by Kris Howatt.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

III.B.4. Position 20, Washington Region

Motion: Tristan Irvin moved the Board to appoint Jill Zurschmeide to the Legislative Policy Committee, Position 20, Washington Region. Seconded by Kris Howatt.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:18 p.m.