SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 12, 2023

Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront – Mt. Hood Room 1401 SW Naito Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201

OSBA board members in attendance at meeting start: President Sonja McKenzie, President-elect Sami Al-Abdrabbuh, Vice President Chris Cronin, Secretary-Treasurer Emily Smith, Past President Scott Rogers, Kraig Albright, Ashley Carson Cottingham, Jeff Crapper, Jackie Crook, Laurie Danzuka, Katrina Doughty (via zoom), Linda Hamilton, Kris Howatt, Greg Kintz, Erika Lopez, Steve Lowell, Alonso Oliveros, Chrissy Reitz, Dawn Watson, Linda Brown (standing in for Will Cahill as OAESD exofficio), Guadalupe Martinez Zapata (ex-officio)

OSBA staff in attendance at meeting start: Executive Director Jim Green, Deputy Executive Director Emielle Nischik, Director of Board Development Kristen Miles, Director of Communications Alex Pulaski, Director of Legislative Services Lori Sattenspiel, Chief Legal Officer Haley Percell, Chief Operations Officer Chris Davidson, PACE Administrator Dave Harvey, Director of Policy Services Spencer Lewis, Executive Assistant La'Nell Trissel, Event Specialist Charissa Geib, Information Technology Analyst Henry van Vuuren

Guests in attendance at meeting start: Robin Eisenbach, Emily Daman, and Lalitha Vaidyanathan, Facilitators with The Giving Practice

OSBA board members not in attendance at meeting start: Neelam Gupta, Maureen Wolf

President McKenzie called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

I. Welcome and roll call

Sonja McKenzie welcomed Board members to the meeting and extended greetings to the guests who were in attendance both virtually and in the room. Roll call was taken. A quorum was present.

II. Approve agenda

Motion: Scott Rogers moved to add additional items to the agenda today. After agenda item V., I would like to request to update the board regarding the whistleblower complaint per the November 2 board meeting; and then a discussion regarding the capacity of the current President-elect to service as an officer. Seconded.

President McKenzie ruled the motion out of order.

Discussion took place regarding the ability, timing, and process for adding agenda items to a meeting agenda; actions and timelines concerning the whistleblower complaint, what information the Executive Committee has received, what information the Board has received, and whether the Board can receive an update or additional information on the current complaint; the merits of and process needed to discuss the capacity of current

officer service; and several points of order, points of privilege, points of information, and other secondary process all surrounding the discussion of the topics listed above.

Jim Green left the meeting at 9:43 a.m.

The meeting recessed at 9:47 a.m. The meeting reconvened at 10:16 a.m.

Roll call was taken. A quorum was present.

Kraig Albright – Present Ashley Carson Cottingham – Present Jeff Crapper - Present Chris Cronin – Present Jackie Crook – Present Laurie Danzuka – Present Katrina Doughty – Present via Zoom Neelam Gupta - Absent Linda Hamilton – Present Kris Howatt - Present Greg Kintz - Present Erika Lopez – Present Steve Lowell – Present Sonja McKenzie - Present Alonso Oliveros – Present Chrissy Reitz - Present Scott Rogers - Present Emily Smith – Present Dawn Watson - Present Maureen Wolf - Absent

President McKenzie recapped the meeting and summarized her efforts over the last year and while negotiating the whistleblower process.

President McKenzie recognized outgoing members of the OSBA Board of Directors.

Vice President Chris Cronin recognized President McKenzie's outstanding service to the Board, the Association, and the school children of Oregon through her term as OSBA Board President and presented her with a token of appreciation from the Board.

Ashley Carson Cottingham moved the Board to recess the meeting. Katrina Doughty seconded.

Further discussion took place regarding the merits of adjourning or recessing the meeting.

A roll call vote was taken, there being 18 votes in opposition, the motion failed.

Kraig Albright – Nay Ashley Carson Cottingham – Nay Jeff Crapper - Nay Chris Cronin – Nay Jackie Crook – Abstained Laurie Danzuka – Nay Katrina Doughty – Nay Linda Hamilton – Nay Kris Howatt - Nay Greg Kintz - Nay Erika Lopez – Nay Steve Lowell – Nay Sonja McKenzie - Nay Alonso Oliveros – Nay Chrissy Reitz - Aye Scott Rogers - Aye Emily Smith – Nay Dawn Watson - Nay Sonja McKenzie moved to table the discussion. Seconded.

Kraig Albright – Nay Ashley Carson Cottingham – Aye Jeff Crapper - Nay Chris Cronin – Aye Jackie Crook – Aye Laurie Danzuka – Aye Katrina Doughty – Aye Linda Hamilton – Nay Kris Howatt - Aye Greg Kintz - Nay Erika Lopez – Aye Steve Lowell – Nay Sonja McKenzie - Aye Alonso Oliveros – Aye Chrissy Reitz - Aye Scott Rogers - Nay Emily Smith – Nay Dawn Watson - Nay

A roll call vote was taken, there being eight votes in opposition, the motion passed with the majority.

Clarification was made that the continuation of the discussion as an agenda item will be reviewed by the Executive Committee.

President McKenzie invited Robin Eisenbach with The Giving Practice to speak. Robin led attendees through a series of grounding exercises.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:15 a.m.