January 22, 2021

RE: School Board Members of Color Caucus (OSBMCC) issues a statement calling for the resignation of Clackamas County Commissioner Mark Shull

Together, as school board members, we represent all of our diverse communities and families in our respective districts, and we stand united in shock and disappointment over comments written, shared, and endorsed by Clackamas County Commissioner Mark Shull on social media.

His deeply hateful and hostile rhetoric cast dangerous bigotry and intolerance on many historically and presently marginalized groups, including Muslims, immigrants, and trans individuals. In his role as an elected official Mark Shull took an oath to advocate, support and represent all constituents in his county, regardless of their race, religion, ethnicity, class, and protected status. The volume and breadth of the Commissioner's comments demonstrate a severe disconnect with the shared values of Clackamas County and the region, and we have lost any trust in his ability to serve the county equitably and justly. As the Oregon School Board Members of Color Caucus, we join many other lawmakers and elected officials in calling on Commissioner Shull to resign immediately.

To all the students and families in Clackamas County and beyond targeted by Commissioner Shull's rhetoric, we stand with you and take our roles very seriously in providing a safe environment for all, as well as equitable representation and treatment towards every member of our communities. We stand together as a Caucus and continue to commit to protect and uplift all of the people we represent, and to speak out against racism, hate, bigotry and other forms of intolerance that have no place in our State.

Signed,

Sami Al-Abdrabbuh, Ph.D.

Oregon School Board Members of Color Caucus President

LEADERSHIP COUNCIL EXECUTIVE MEMBERS

President **Sami Al-AbdRabbuh** Corvallis SD

Vice President Bill Graupp North Marion SD

Secretary **Helen Ying** Multnomah ESD

Treasurer **Sonja Mckenzie** Parkrose SD

REGIONAL MEMBERS

Erika Lopez Hillsboro SD

Lori Theros Klamath Falls City Schools

Michelle DePass

Luhui Whitebear

Kathy Wai North Clackamas SD

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE

Jessica Arzate Multnomah ESD

Narce Rodriguez Forest Grove SD