

1201 Court Street NE, Suite 400, Salem, OR 97301 503-588-2800 | 800-578-6722 | Fax 503-588-2813 | www.osba.org

OSBMCC General Meeting

Saturday, November 8, 2024 (4:30 to 5:30 pm)

In-person location: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

1401 SW Naito Pkwy Room location: Mt. Hood

Zoom link:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81807845674?pwd=dVjT9rlRBUWNfmardl7 5dNtPY3C5Uw.1

Meeting ID: 818 0784 5674

Passcode: 710822

Dial by phone: (253) 215-8782

OSBMCC Key Folder

In attendance:

Members: Neelam Gupta, Mariah Galaviz, Lilia Caballero, Jose Aparicio, Nancy Castillo-McKinnis, Maya Rabasa, Maribel Ramirez, Janece Payne, Bernie Wang, Charlie Chu, Sonja McKenzie, Carlos Perez, Kina Chadwick, Kim Brick, José Gamero-Georgeson, Luhui Whitebear, Denyse Peterson, Linda Hamilton, Jenny Jonak, Sunita Garg, Danny Cage, Justice Rajee, Michele Rosenbaum, Helen Ying, Renee Anderson, Laurie Danzuka, Kris Howatt, David Jaimes, Pat Morinaka, Senitila McKinley, April Dobson, and Jessica Arzate

Friends: Nicole Quackenbush, Austin Folnagy, Sydney Kissinger, Clyde Rood, Nora Kent, Aaron Barrow,

OSBA staff: Adrienne Nelson, La'Nell Trissel

Guests: Bill Graupp, Mike Darcy, Carina Miller and Cova Metcalf

LEADERSHIP COUNCIL **EXECUTIVE MEMBERS**

President Neelam Gupta Lake Oswego SD

Luhui Whitebear Corvallis SD

Secretary Helen Ying Multnomah ESD

Treasurer Coos Bay SD

REGIONAL MEMBERS

Sunita Garg Beaverton SD

Annie Valtierra-Sanchez outhern Oregon ESD

Aaron Muñoz Gonzalez Reynolds SD

Janece Payne

Kathy Wai North Clackamas SD

David Jaimes Tigard-Tualatin \$D

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE

Senitila McKinley Lincoln County SD

Patricia "Pat" Morinaka

Agenda and Notes:

1. Welcome

Neelam called the meeting to order at 4:35 pm and welcomed all to the meeting.

2. Review & adopt notes from the August General Meeting

Neelam highlighted the August meeting notes. Motion made by Janece Payne to adopt the notes. Pat Morinaka seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

3. Treasurer's report

a. Scholarship opportunities

i. OSBMCC Scholarship application form

- Deadline for NSBA Advocacy & Equity Institute scholarship applications is Sunday, November 10.
- Deadline for NSBA Annual Conference scholarship applications is Friday, 11/29/2024

Neelam encouraged folks to consider attending the conferences and reminded folks to apply for the scholarships by the deadline.

4. Elections

Slate of Leadership Council nominees proposed by the Nominating Committee:

- President: Luhui Whitebear (Corvallis SD)
- Vice President: David Jaimes (Tigard-Tualatin SD)
- Secretary: Open
- Treasurer: Jose Gamero-Georgeson (David Douglas SD)
- District 1 (Bonamici): Justice Rajee (Beaverton SD)
- District 2 (Bentz): Annie Valtierra-Sanchez (Southern Oregon ESD)
- District 3 (Blumenauer): Open

- District 4 (Hoyle): Janece Payne (Brookings-Harbor SD)
- District 5 (Chavez-DeRemer): Open
- District 6 (Salinas): Open
- At-Large 1: Kim Brick (Coos Bay SD)
- At-Large 2: Open

Legislative Policy Committee Representative Nominee for Appointment: Justice Rajee (Beaverton SD)

Go HERE to see more information for each nominee.

- Each candidate shared about why they are running.
- A question was raised about who will represent the caucus on the OSBA board.
 - Neelam and Lu clarified that although the OSBMCC representative to the OSBA Board is currently and has been in the past the OSBMCC president, the caucus bylaws state that this seat is appointed from the Leadership Council. In addition, Neelam confirmed with Emielle that the OSBA and OSBMCC bylaws do not prevent OSBMCC members from running for OSBMCC Leadership Council and OSBA Board positions at the same time.

Floor nominations:

- Laurie Danzuka nominated Carina Miller for the secretary position.
 - A question was raised regarding Carina's eligibility as a charter school board member.
 - Sami checked with OSBA staff about the matter and provided the following clarification: While charter public school board members are no longer considered OSBA members, they can still receive services and participate in OSBA activities through their host school district.

Since Carina Miller is only a member of the charter school board and not a

member of the Baker School District board or any other member board (e.g., ESD or community college), she does not meet the OSBA caucus membership criteria, which requires members to be "a member of any public board of education in Oregon who are active members in good standing with the Oregon School Boards Association."

- Kris Howatt (Gresham-Barlow SD) nominated herself for the District 3 position.
- Charles Chu (Gladstone SD) nominated himself for the District 5 position.
- Nancy Castillo-McKinnis (Phoenix-Talent SD) nominated herself for the at-large position 2
- Kim Brick nominated Maribel Ramirez (Nyssa SD) for the secretary position.

A motion was made by	\prime to elect all the nominees.
seconded. The	e motion was carried unanimously.

5. Appoint NSBA minority delegate

Sami shared about the role of the minority delegate and nominated

Nancy McKinnis for the position. The nomination received unanimous support from all members present.

6. Appoint representatives following the OSBA board election results

- a. **Legislative Policy Committee Representative:** Justice Rajee (Beaverton SD)
- b. OSBA Board Representative
 - Neelam and Lu explained that OSBMCC will appoint the LPC representative and OSBA Board representative during a special meeting to be scheduled in December after the OSBA election results have been announced. There

are OSBMCC Leadership Council nominees on the OSBA slate, and appointing the two positions after the OSBA elections results are available will allow OSBMCC members to make a more informed decision.

- 7. Bylaws updates in 2025 was tabled until the next meeting due to time constraints.
- 8. Written reports for review:
 - a. Student Voice Project updates
 - b. Caucus orientation video project updates
- 9. Open floor as time permits

The meeting adjourned at 5:30 pm.