News Center

President Doug Nelson leads new OSBA Officer lineup

With a new year comes a new slate of officers on OSBA's Board of Directors, headed by President Doug Nelson of the High Desert Education Service District (ESD).

Joining Nelson as officers are Betty Reynolds (West Linn-Wilsonville School District), president-elect; LeeAnn Larsen (Beaverton SD), vice president; Don Cruise (Philomath SD), secretary-treasurer; and Dave Krumbein (Pendleton SD), past president.

The officers officially took their posts on Jan. 1.

Dr. Nelson brings a wealth of educational experience to the position, having served as superintendent of Bend-La Pine schools from 2000 to 2008, and superintendent of Pullman, Wash., schools for 11 years before that.

Six new members also joined the 19-member OSBA Board effective Jan. 1, for two-year terms.

They are Kevin Cassidy, Baker SD; Cheri Helt, Bend-La Pine SD; Hank Perry, Douglas ESD; Kaye Jones, Jefferson SD; Francisco Acosta, Jr., Multnomah ESD; and Paul Anthony, Portland Public Schools.

OSBA is a member services organization for more than 200 locally elected boards serving school districts, education service districts and community colleges. It also provides services to charter schools and their boards.