News Center

Miller-Jones and Howatt elected to NSBA positions

OSBA Executive Director Betsy Miller-Jones and OSBA Past President Kris Howatt (Gresham-Barlow School Board) were each elected to positions this weekend during the National School Boards Association (NSBA) Pacific Region meeting, held in Las Vegas.  

Betsy Miller-Jones
OSBA Executive Director


Miller-Jones was re-elected region secretary-treasurer. Her responsibility is to plan meetings, oversee region finances and report on meetings and committee assignments and recommendations. Pacific Region states meet twice a year discuss policy and legislative topics.

Howatt was elected as the alternate Pacific Region representative to the NSBA Policies and Resolutions Committee with a two-year term. She will also serve as a member of the Pacific Region Policies and Resolutions Committee with a term of two years. Howatt serves as the 2013 chair of the Pacific Region policy committee, and vice chair of the Pacific Region for 2013.

Kris Howatt
OSBA Past President

Joining the two in attending the meeting were OSBA President Terry Lenchitsky (Oregon Trail School Board), Vice President Dave Krumbein (Pendleton School Board), Secretary/Treasurer Bobbie Regan (Portland Public Schools Board) and OSBA staff member Renee Sessler.

The NSBA Pacific Region is composed of state school boards association leadership and staff from Oregon, Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Nevada, Utah and Washington. The Alberta (Canada) School Boards Association is an international partner in the Region.